Paris
in the summer

I’ve heard it’s hot,
but I’ve never been

I haven’t seen the Eiffel Tower
except in a couple movies

pictures on the Internet
or whatever’s in my head

I don’t speak French,
“Je ne parle pas français?”

Did I say it right that time?
It’s so warm here

boulevards on fire like — Excus-I mean
“Excusez-moi, mademoiselle”

how do you say …? what is …?
no words again

nods though, nods are good
… for a time

Thank God … all smiles now;
that was close

But where was I? Smiles? Smiles on fire?
So warm. So, so warm.

Paris
in the summer

it’ll be hot;
better get moving.

Leave a Reply

